Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Blossom

This morning as I was getting Xena out the car in the car park at the woods I bumped into a friend who was also about to walk her dog there. We ended up walking together for the entire dog walk, with the two dogs playing constantly for the one hour walk - Xena has slept for most of the day since then and I am sure her dog will also be tired.

I took some photos of blossoms today and it was easier than last week when we had strong winds all week and they were waving about and it was so hard to focus on them. The blossom is looking so pretty at the moment. I also practiced focus stacking some of my Mothering Sunday flowers, but it takes a bit of practice to get the focus points in the right places.

After wondering why some people react to the Covid vaccine with side effects and others don't, there was an interesting report on BBC news today about that. Apparently the older you are, the less side effects, with the over 70's having almost no side effects. I was also worrying about how I would react to my second dose of the vaccine but the report says that the effect of the second dose of the AZ vaccine will be 'innocuous' while the second dose of the Pfizer vaccine could slightly increase the chances of side effects.

We had to confirm our bookings today for our trip to SA in August  - they have been confirmed but due to Covid restrictions we are allowed to postpone them for the second time if necessary. We won't know the travel situation until much later. 

Just when I was hoping life would be getting back to normal by the autumn, Tommy has had to confirm his university accommodation for the next academic year (21/22 )which will be in 'bubbles' once again - really? Maybe this is due to the foreign students who may not be vaccinated by then. Cases are rising in Europe again and I cannot understand why they just don't get on with their vaccination program instead of repeatedly criticising the AZ vaccine from the UK and stalling. Surely the rising cases is or more concern to them now then anything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.