Looking into the past

My old school is being demolished. If you follow the path to the ground floor classroom (already with no windows) that is where my life changed.

That is where I started my Secondary School Education. It was the first day of the first year of the new Comprehensive School in 1965.

That first day I sat next to Richard Pickup ( I wonder where he is now?  - I remember as an Adult my Dad knew him through his work).  The teacher was Mr Bob Brown in class 1P10 

Mr Brown among other things was the Drama teacher who was in charge of School productions. His son is in the local news this week as he has been involved in saving a terracotta mural that was in the School entrance.

I didn’t enjoy school. I would change just about every decision I made or that was made for me.  I would choose different subjects, one’s that actually interested me but that alone would not be enough. I would have to  have had a way of building up my confidence rather than it being eroded by  the poor start. The poor start was in part because of being an outsider (NOT a local) or the fact I had failed the 11 Plus. I had little chance of passing the exams as I was never trained to take them.

A much longer story was typed here and then deleted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.