Journies at home

By journiesathome

Teaching boys not to drive too fast....

My morning class didn't turn up, so I went looking and found them standing around an upside down car with a policeman shouting through the window 'do you respect the police?'  Boualeghi was in the passenger seat shouting back that he didn't.  Mohammed was hitting him, telling him to shut up and shouting back at the policeman that of course they did. The policeman then righted the car, checked for a thumbs up from the two boys and sent it rolling four times to the left and four times to the right at 20kms/hr.  The rolling stopped and the boys staggered out, pale and shaken.  
When it was my turn, the boys made me take the driver's seat and Evan agreed to be my passenger.  The policeman spun us upside down.  We hung there for a while and then he knocked on the window and asked me to promise I'd give all my boys 20/20 for their English Baccalauréat .   I said yes, of course I bloody would.  
He righted us and spun us one way and then another for several hours. 
The boys cheered as we got out, happy to have a twenty in the bag.  Evan turned to me and thanked me for a lesson in English profanities.  
The policeman gave a short, moving speech about the devastating trauma of road accident deaths and we all went our ways feeling wiser. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.