Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

A New Blipping Toy

I have been quite envious of SWMBO for quite sometime, and have been lusting after her Powershot S100. I have been thinking of upgrading my G9 for quite a while now, but have been quite reluctant after the last attempt (to the G10) which was quite a disaster, and have not seen anything to replace my 'pocket camera' that made me think it would be an improvement. Not that the G9 can really be seen as a pocket camera, it is quite heavy and bulky, it will sit in a coat pocket comfortably but not a shirt pocket, which is really what I have been looking for.

So, eventually I made the decision to upgrade to the S100, too late, just when I made the decision Canon took it away and released the, IMHO, slightly less attractive S100 removing a couple of the features that made the s100 my choice. No, I didn't throw the toys out of the pram, I just resigned myself to the fact that the upgrade would have to be the S110 - that is until SWMBO (God bless her) found an S100 on the John Lewis website and kindly bought it for me (major payback coming up).

I took it for a little potter along the Water of Leith this morning to get an idea of what it can do, and, even though I can see there is a lot to learn, I was more than impressed with it. It did help that there was some fantastic light, as can be seen above.

Better biggified.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.