Groggster

By Groggster

Lifeless Laundry (Not In Use)

Today's image was my fourth in a row in Barming - again taken after I had dropped my brother off at the station. I loved the colours and shapes through the window of this laundrette - the red and orange chairs, the different coloured tiles on the floor, the wide blue stripes on the washing machines and tumble driers - and I don't even mind that the image is slightly askew. You can also just about see the outline of my reflection and the fact that one of the machines has a "NOT IN USE" sign on it (this is even underlined for emphasis). I have no idea if this applies to just that machine or the laundrette as a whole but it is a bit of a metaphor for our current situation.
After two strong cups of coffee I decided to set off for a solo Spring walk. I headed off early as it was such a lovely morning - the sun was just breaking through and there was a cool breeze. I decided to walk up to the North Downs to Bluebell Hill and back down through Kit's Coty Estate and Eccles.
There is a fairly tough uphill section past Kit's Coty itself but once you reach the top and walk onto the flat ridge at the summit there is such an expansive view of the Kent countryside (unfortunately I could not seem to capture an image to do it justice) - well worth the effort.
Considering it was such a lovely morning I was really surprised that I did not meet a single other walker on my journey (I actually came across more horses than people) until I was nearly back in my home village of Aylesford, by which time the clouds had arrived and the wind had picked up considerably which I didn't actually mind at all. I even managed to find a footpath near home that I had never used before. A great walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.