Wednesday: Old Growth

This was the only photo I took today, while out for my lunchtime walk.

As you might expect, we felt a little flat today.  We went to bed for a few hours last night and then got up to watch my Uncle David’s funeral being streamed online.  It was small, due to restrictions,  but apparently there were lots of people standing outside the crematorium to pay their respects, even though they couldn’t be inside.  My uncle was a popular guy and was very well thought of by friends and colleagues alike.  

He was in the fire brigade for 33 years, starting as a firefighter and finishing as Assistant Chief for Tyne and Wear.  There was an honour guard lining both sides of the street, plus a fire engine.  And inside the crematorium there were two firefighters in full dress uniform, standing to attention on either side of the coffin.

It was a lovely service, with a good amount of humour.  We went to bed again at 0400 and slept for a few more hours.  When I woke up I wondered whether it was all a dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.