JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Discover this land, like never before

I spent a week in New York last week, and my surroundings aren't helping me go cold-turkey on the place. Wall-to-wall USA tv programmes, plus I chat about it, a lot. And then, on leaving work, the first billboard I come across is for the USA. I love New York, but it's a year before I will go back.

'Discover this land, like never before'. It's a clunky old line. The alliterative centre doesn't help, and am I being encouraged to discover it anew or again - to virgin visit or re-visit? Or both? For all the US holds (and I am under no illusion, NY isn't US and neither is the reverse true), is the pic the best we can do? I get the ad, I get the copy, I get the sentiment, I get the pic. I just don't know if I get it enough to want to go right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.