Early

It made for a very odd start to the day - I heard loud voices down in the car park at 8 am, which seemed to be a group of workies about to set off for their day's tasks. Well, I suppose they were - just didn't expect that 15 min later they'd be actually outside the bedroom window. Fortunately I was sufficiently clothed. They gave me a cheery wave on their way up to fix the detached down pipe that I'd reported. The factor was startled by the news - not that they'd fixed it, but that they'd done it so early and that they'd used a cherry picker!

In the evening I attended (via Zoom) a celebratory evening that was scheduled to take place a year ago - the presentation of a gold EFDSS badge to my old pal Chris Coe. It was to have been a proper knees up in Ryburn, near her home in Yorkshire, but ended up being virtual instead. DaveH was in attendance, from his garret in Hull. Lots of people contributed songs and stories, a citation was read, and her husband finally pinned the gold badge on her frock, after a year of waiting. I sang a song for her that we used to do when we worked as a duo - a beautiful little song called 'Rosie', written by the multi-talented Ogatodomar. Many good thoughts were sent towards Brussels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.