Bones

I took a little side road on the way home, and discovered the South Yamhill County Cemetery. Yeah, me and my cemetery obsession. Love the history. This one's on the site of the old Baptist Church, built there in the 1850s, and it was the third Baptist church built west of the Mississippi. This stone fooled me: while the chiseled names have faded, and the moss and lichen contribute to wear down this old stone, I saw an "-ONES" on the face, and assumed that it was a "Jones." Nope. On a closer check it's Bones...BONES!!Yes, my nickname back in the day, and yes, Bones in the old cemetery. William Bones, born July _ 1870, Died December 29, 1899. Only 29, and he died three days shy of the turn of the millennium, 1900. Sorry, Billy Bones. Sorry you didn't live longer. You rest in a beautiful, peaceful place now. Rest your bones, Billy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.