Island site

Off into the middle of nowhere today in the middle of North Uist and an 8km stroll over some quite rough ground.
It is an interesting area historically and was clearly more important then than now.
This island site was one of our main objectives and the image is from D's drone rather than mine. 
From the shore it seems to be an untidy heap of stones but the aerial view gives a lot more of an idea of how much is going on. We (or certainly I) suspect that this goes back to the early Medieval period and the Norse. I think it was probably one of the main strongholds of the area before being replaced by Castle Borve in the 14th century. Why I hear you ask... 
Well in 1371 the King of Scotland signed a charter giving a list of properties to a Ranald and in that list was 'de insula de Huwyste cum castro de Vynvawle'. I am sure I won't need to translate the Latin.
Anyway this island in the image lies in the shadow of a hill called Unival in Anglicized spelling which I reckon is a pretty good match for Vynvawle. 
Much more on my blog. "Can't wait" I can hear you all saying.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.