Stillness Speaks

By BethanneWho

Improvements

Yesterday was my monthly physical therapy appointment. Each time I go I am retested on the balance machine. Believe it or not, this is an improvement over last month's test.

I have to stand on this machine that registers my balance with eyes open, then closed. Then they add this foam piece and I have to stand on that eyes open, then eyes closed.

It appears that as long as I stay off foam and don't close my eyes I can be somewhat normal :-) She added a bunch more exercises for me to do and I did order my own special foam pad for standing on daily with my eyes closed. I do all my exercises twice daily. They are actually meant to  make me dizzy. That's what makes them so much fun (not).

While there yesterday, I saw two stroke victims and a woman with a full leg brace on and another with a walker moving at the speed of standing still. I think we were all sizing each other up and guessing what each of us has been through. It certainly gives perspective when you see  someone unable to lift their arm or putting such extreme effort into each step. At least I should recover 80 to 100% of my balance. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.