LAPWING

I had a five-minute slot booked at the local recycling centre, since that's the way we have to do things now, but when I got there it was closed because of the high winds. They'd texted me a reminder of the booking yesterday afternoon - I wouldn't have thought a text about the closure would be beyond them. Never mind. A man came out to tell the queue to come back at the same time tomorrow (wind permitting). I did manage to drop off three boxes of assorted kitchenalia and bric-a-brac at one of the charity shops which was open for donations, though, so that was a plus. Then I found some lapwings to photograph. This one's crest was blowing around all over the place in the aforementioned high winds, and the flying lapwings looked even more like bits of dark cloth blowing about in the breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.