Rodents rule

By squirk

Edith

It warmed up enough for lunch on the garden bench. Edith the giant pond snail sunbathed near the surface of the pond – the ice has disappeared. 

Lunch wasn't any old fare but a filled baguette from Paul in central London! Such stuff that used to be so old-hat when working centrally is now a luxury and devoured with enthusiasm. Fred visited the Apple Genius guys about his laptop. Last week, they told him it would be £600 to repair. This week, it's free because a judge agreed that Apple knowingly sold defective laptops: flexgate. The computer is fine, but the ribbon connection is failing and it means the screen doesn't work!

It's been busy, busy today and I didn't go for a walk, which was bad of me. I should have popped out at lunch for even a walk around the block, but I was distracted by the baguette. A huge bonus of the day was BBC 6 Music playing 80s hits. I belted out St Elmo's FireLike a Prayer, and I Think We're Alone Now, and discovered Good Technology.

Mum and Rory stomped me at tonight's quiz, winning 43 points to my 38! 

In cat news, I managed to make headway in talking to Perch. I received a headrub buff and, without thinking, I picked him up and placed him on the bench cushion. He didn't seem to mind. Juno appeared shortly later and they rubbed noses. Perhaps they will be friends. This is good as Juno and the large ginger (Bacon) had a yowl-off in the morning. It was all Big Tails and Big Voices. Bacon always wins in these situations.

Rolling back to 7am: I caught Juno quite upright on the windowsill peering down into the garden. Following his line of sight, I expected to see Perch, but it was a wee mouse under the bird table scurrying to and fro. Juno was rooted to the spot! He didn't even go to chase it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.