Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Well that didn't take very long now did it!

Medway (towns) comprises Rochester, Strood, Chatham, Gillingham and Rainham. Some areas are more salubrious than others: Rochester is very well-heeled and Chatham is rough and shabby. If I worked at Medway Council and it was my job to commission public art I'd give some thought to location. I might, for instance, put a “We Love the NHS” close to a hospital, so that those key workers got to see it as they arrived and left their place of work. Similarly I might put a “We Love Retail Staff” close to a shopping street and a “We Love Our Police” close to the police station.
Wouldn't you?
But no, the “We Love Our Police” is in a little out-of-sight stub off the pedestrian precinct section of Chatham High Street. I do not walk in this area after normal retail hours because I feel unsafe there. It has nothing to do with lighting and it has everything to do with the types of people who choose to hang around there.
The strongest message coming from this campaign is that Medway council is oblivious to its residents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.