Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

The Belgravia of Huddersfield

There are various urban myths about Huddersfield once having more millionaires per square mile than anywhere else in the world, or having the most Rolls Royces per capita in the world. I don't know if either is true, but the suburb of Edgerton is certainly jam packed full of mansions from Huddersfield's hey-day as a mill town. 

They are all within 10 minutes walk of my house so I regularly wander with the dog and wonder at the stories the mansions and villas could tell. Most have now been split into flats, or are care-homes, but some remain as single occupancies. I'd love to post photos of the diverse buildings, complete with the occasional gothic bell tower, but I don't want to be arrested for staking out potential burglaries. 

Instead, here are some gateposts, which I was brave enough to photograph. I was fascinated how some owners have painstakingly preserved or restored the house names, whereas others have just let them fade away.

I set out in bright sunshine, walked though a snow storm, and arrived back home with the sun shining again. Good old British weather. 

Thank you to everyone for the comments, stars and faves for my anniversary Blip yesterday. You are all rather lovely people x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.