Everesting

As promised this is my report on my Everest ride on Saturday.

The challenge is to ride the height of Everest in one day on one hill.8848 m. You can do it outside or do a virtual one inside on a turbo trainer - mine was virtual.
There are very defined rules so you have to use a certain type of turbo set up in a prescribed way. That way the effort is the same climbing inside as it is out and that has been tested. At present there are only 2 online platforms you can use - I’m on Zwift.

My climb was up Alpe du Zwift which has exactly the same road profile as Alpe d’huez in France and probably the most famous Tour de France climb.

It’s 12.2 km long on the road to the sky Zwift route. On the first leg you have to ride to the climb start which takes about 10 minutes. Each loop thereafter you hit the return direction button at the marked top / bottom.

It is a long day so you have to very carefully balance power output/ heart rate and food.

I was trying to stay below 220watts and 130bpm

The total calories burn was 7700!

I had a number of riders join me over the course of the day to help me stay motivated. Having a team around you really helps.

To help pass the time / break it up i timed and log every one of the 21 corners on each climb... ok missed a couple whilst chatting .. today’s photo is my time sheet. The text is the name of a famous cycling movie.... seemed appropriate!

To give this context sub 1 hour up this hill is considered very fast and my full effort PB is 54.08

Interesting couple of my helpers actually couldn’t keep up and had to drop off.

I was very even paced and here are the timings
1.14.47
1.11.37
1.12.32
1.13.53
1.12.56
1.14.21
1.16.44
1.18.05
Then final 1/2 climb .. not added those up individually.

Total time to 8.5 climbs 12.34.44
Time to final descent stop 22.41.45

Total distance 219 km

A long day... I did shed a tear at the end but I’m a bit soft

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.