up in the morning early

Hello, sun in my face.
Hello, you who made the morning
and spread it over the fields
and into the faces of the tulips
and the nodding morning glories, 
and into the windows of, even, the
miserable and the crotchety – 
best preacher that ever was, 
dear star, that just happens
to be where you are in the universe
to keep us from ever-darkness, 
to ease us with warm touching, 
to hold us in the great hands of light –
good morning, good morning, good morning.
Watch, now, how I start the day

in happiness, in kindness.


"Why I Wake early" by Mary Oliver

This month, I've challenged myself to get up when the alarm goes off at 7.15, get dressed and go on a walk. To make it easier, I go on the same walk every morning. No faffing about...

There have been days when I'd have liked an extra hour in bed, but no days when I've regretted going outside. With the exception of one dull drizzly day, every morning so far in April has been a sunny one. Today there were skeins of geese flying overhead as I left home.

The early mornings hold such promise and for me they are the best part of the day. I'd be up at sunrise if I could but that would mean going to bed earlier. D has a different body clock and we need to compromise!

Todays walks: Stepford Round 3.55 miles RB and Fish farm 2.01 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.