Log Freuchie

By Freuchie

Wee Lochan fireplace

I met my old friend, Tom, for lunch in the west end of Glasgow today. He has suffered from ill health in recent years and I hadn't seen him since last summer, so it was great to find him looking well and back to telling funny stories from his past.

I first met him 45 years ago when he was a lecturer at Jordanhill College of Education and I was a student, and we have been great friends ever since. I used to babysit for him and his wife when their two boys were children, and when I got married it was Tom who walked me down the aisle.

There was no parking at the place we'd agreed to meet, so we ventured further down Crow Road to a lovely little restaurant called Wee Lochan, where the food was excellent but much posher than the pub lunch we usually have. They had some interesting art work on the walls and I rather liked this bronze fireplace.

Dull, dreary, dreich and drizzly in the weather department :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.