am bioran

By AmBioran

Glen Derry

On Tuesday when it was announced that travel within Scotland would be permitted from Friday, I jumped for joy. I was so happy to be able to plan a wee jaunt to the mountains for my mental health.
A fantastic forecast made the anticipation build through the week so that I struggled to sleep on Friday night like a child before Christmas. I left Edinburgh at 5.30am in order to bagsy a space in the NTS car park at Linn of Dee.
It was a nippy -3C at the car as I set off along the track towards Glen Lui. 2hours later I was boulder hopping (dry shod) over the Fords of Avon before leaving the path and climbing the Corbett of Creag Mhor, my 150th.

After some grub I headed back to the Avon and then into a lonely coire to the north of the behemoth of Beinn a Bhuird. I was now climbing directly into the sun so was glad of hat and shades. At 900m I reached the snow fields and enjoyed a trot across the plateau, being careful not to stray near the enormous cornices at the edge.

Eventually it was time to leave realm of the gods and descend on an excellent path all the way to my next river crossing where my dry feet finally got soaked after 32km.

Tracks back to the Linn of Dee where many others were returning after special days on the hill. 39km all in.

I feel so thankful to have my physical health to be able to do this, but also that Scotland has such fantastic landscapes to enjoy. And relax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.