La vida de Annie

By Annie

The Empire State Sandwich

A day of Preventive Maintenance (as we used to call it in my IT days) on #2 daughter - doctor, optician and dentist, followed by hairdresser. Had an argument with optician's receptionist about why I should pay for her eye test while she's still at school - she gave me a stupid claim form which only applies to independent adults or higher education students, no part of which I can fill in except for name and address. The problem is she's 19, having had to repeat her AS-level year after taking 6 months out to be in a TV series back in 2006.

Between all these appointments we had lunch in the New York bar and restaurant in Allerton, where #2D had the monstrous Empire State Sandwich pictured while I had the more modest Central Park - a mountain of American-style pancakes with maple syrup and bacon. I should mention that she can eat for Britain - or in this case, America. The sweatshirt was just a happy coincidence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.