Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hints Church

This was the location I went to last Saturday, minus the memory card!

The fog hasn't lifted all day, a real pea souper. It reminded me that it is now more than 60 years since the smogs of '52 in London that caused so many deaths. The events of that winter had a profound effect on the subsequent legal controls on air pollution that are now in place. The first Clean Air Act came into law later that year. It is now difficult to comprehend the terrible sulphurous atmosphere caused by the combination of fog and smoke from coal burning. It was said to make it difficult to take even a breath.

I have used the modern equivalents of the Clean Air Act in my daily work. I was mindful how pleased I was to have this sort of weather condition to take photographs today, whereas my predecessors would have been dreading such an occurence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.