ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Man in the Mirror

Took the bike out for a longer run today. A6 out of Kendal up to Shap and then cross-country to Tebay and back to Kendal. Not too far, but the road from Tebay to Kendal is sufficiently bumpy to give the front forks a bit of a workout.
The good news is that there was no sign of the fork seal weeping. Don’t know what I saw leaking out on Tuesday, but I couldn’t see any evidence of it today.
The less good news is that a fairly serious misfire has developed - mainly when opening the throttle quickly from low revs. You can ride round it most of the time by only opening the throttle slowly and/or keeping the revs up but it did catch me out a couple of times.
I’m hoping it’s because the petrol in the tank is a bit stale (it’s about five months old) and the problem will cure itself once I put fresh fuel in. If not, then I guess it will be an expensive visit to the dealer to have the injection system cleaned or reset.
It was obviously a good day for cruising around the fringes of the Lake District as, at one point, I had the glorious sight of half a dozen Porsche 911s passing me in the opposite direction, closely followed by a brace of Ferraris.
I’ll go out again soon to use up what is left of the stale fuel in the tank, and then hope some fresh petrol will cure the misfire. Not over confident though. Fortunately, if a visit to the dealer is required, it is always a great run up the A6 to Carlisle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.