Premium Bananas

My Dear Princess, Loulou and Fellows,

Today was a funny old day. For one thing, I awoke to the sound of bagpipes. I guess it was echoing across Paraparaumu from the war memorial for ANZAC day.

It made me feel a bit homesick.

I watched some more Shelley Winters films and then Caro got up early to go to Mitre 10 with Rachel, our next door neighbour. Caro isn't friends EXACTLY with Rachel. In that Rachel has invited Caro to join the Sisters of Sav but Caro doesn't want to be that friendly. 

But, if she gets a free trip to Mitre 10, then Caro is down for a bit of chat. 

Since I'd been up since 5am with the cats, I thought I'd grab the chance of a nap.

However, it turns out the store didn't open until 12pm because of the holiday today. So Caro came right back, disturbing my nap.

Then she went out again at 12pm. So I thought I'd grab the chance of a nap.

Jasper woke me up for a cuddle. I dropped off again and found myself being awoken about 20 minutes later. 

"There's a wobbly hedgehog in the garden," said Caro. And I had to shake myself awake to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

But there was, indeed a drunken hedgehog out there. Wobbling around and falling over. I googled and it could be one of two things:

- Wobbly Hedgehog Syndrome
It is really called this and is some sort of neurological thing that is fatal. We're hoping it is not that.

- Hibernation Kicking In
Apparently when they're about to hibernate, hedgehogs shake and stagger about. As it is very nearly hibernation time, we're hoping it is this.

All the same, we didn't know what to do with Wobbly Hedgehog. In the end, we shredded some paper, put it in a cardboard box with cat food and water and plopped the hedgehog in there. He's still in there now. He's in the living room in a box marked, "Premium Bananas".

After that I thought I would try to grab a nap. And Loulou arrived!

It is always nice to see Loulou. She gave us her news but was very excited by Hedgehog in a Box. I think she would have liked to take him away with her. "But no, I need to do my taxes," she said. 

On her way out, Loulou got to play with Dave, who popped out of the garage to see her. 

And it is at times like these that I take a look at my life. Hedgehogs in the living room, cats in the garage, cats peering in through the back windows at us and a daily routine that starts at 5am so I can feed the birds.

Premium bananas. But I like it.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.