Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Such a busy day! A 10am appointment at the picture framers in Rochester, a dash to collect a parcel from the sorting office in Chatham before it closed (thank-you Freespiral & Veronica), a wander back along the High Street calling in at every kind of 2nd-hand shop until I had found everything I was in search of plus a couple of items I had not been seeking but which presented themselves as immediately essential.
By the end of it all I had walked over five miles and had passed this spot four times.
I am very sad to see that we have lost The Flippin' Frog – Rochester's first micro-pub, apparently its owners have returned to France because they can.
I am also sad to see the juxtaposition between its new sign and the railway bridge. Yes The Dead Pigeon is another mico-pub farther along the High Street, but the railway bridge, right beside this building is netted, theoretically to prevent pigeons from roosting, but the netting doesn't work and becomes a death-trap to birds who do get in. There is one trapped and dying there as I type this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.