Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was a beautiful day, our warmest yet with a high temperature of 85.  High winds were in the forecast but we never had more than a gentle breeze. The conditions were perfect and I was glad I chose to ride in the foothills.  I rode 34 miles today. :-)

Top row:         It looks like a day care center for calves!  They were part of a large herd of cattle but they were off by themselves.
                        Sassy goat.  While I was photographing the goats, the owner called to me from his porch.  He said they also had pigs and chickens if I wanted to see them.  He came down and gave me a tour of the barnyard. :-))
                        Great Blue Herons at their nest.

Middle:           Alpaca.  They're so cute, they don't even look real!
                        Western Meadowlark
                        Bison from the herd I've blipped before.  They were much further away today.

Bottom:          Guineafowl
                        Baby goat from a different farm.
                        Pigs from the friendly farmer. :-)

My first extra is 3 shots of metal sculptures.  I stopped to photograph the metal owl at the end of a driveway.  When I rode on, a man in a car came out of the driveway and stopped to talk to me.  He said I should go back down the driveway to see the dragon and phoenix sculptures that were underway.  There were several people there and they welcomed me and told me about the sculptures and even took me into the workshop to see the model of the phoenix.  They said I should stop by to check on their progress whenever I am riding by again. :-))

The second extra is Longs Peak and Mt. Meeker reflected in McCall Lake.  I never get tired of this view.  It's really starting to look and feel like spring but it will take a while for all that snow on the high mountains to melt - especially when there will probably be more snow before it stops for the summer.

I am grateful for all the friendly people I met on my ride today!

Thank you to everyone for your visits and stars and hearts.  I really appreciate all of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.