It was 20 years ago today...

Well, it wasn’t but it sometimes seems a lifetime away. Trudging across the dicey wavecut platform under treacherous chalk cliffs to salvage wood, rope, sails, a belaying pin and the stainless steel water tank of a beautiful Essex swatchways 1950s yacht that was wrecked in a storm when we were at St Margaret’s Bay.

Some of the bits came out to Italy. They were hard won and became part of my story.

Yesterday and today I made another workbench and in pride of place I put some of the painted marine ply from the cabin of the Egretta. I cut it down to size with the table saw.

Man, it was a dreich day and the rain pounded on the big hanger roofs of the plant place we go to.

I watched the 1970 film, Waterloo, in the evening the Boss being on manoeuvres. I’ve been rereading Patrick O’ Brian’s 20 novel sea-scapade.

We complete on the sale of Mum’s house tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.