soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

There are peregrine falcons

Breeding on the tower of Salisbury Cathedral. There is a webcam - and you can watch them live. I have taken some blips of my i pad. The main is of her sitting on them, trying to cover them with her wings to protect them, and ensure they can’t be seen from above.  I think they are 2 or 3 days old - there’s 4 of them. I think there is only one parent - I’ve been watching quite a lot, and I’ve only seen one.  When she leaves them to go hunting, she tells them to huddle in a tight heap, keep still, with their heads in the middle and their bums on the outside, their wings around each other. When they poo, it shoots out at least a foot, which keeps the nest area clean.  See 1st extra  The second extra is of her, back from hunting, feeding them.  AVOID this one if her killing a starling to feed her young will upset you. She is very careful to share it between them, she’s a good parent.
I really recommend the webcam. I don’t seem to be able to attach a link - but if you google Salisbury Cathedral webcam you’ll go straight there:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.