Walk in the Light

'Nobly they kept alight the lamp of liberty'.

War memorials have become part of the furniture of our everyday lives. These words are enscribed on this one in Milngavie.
I've walked past it many times but never really looked at it properly.
So thank you Blipfoto for making me look more closely.
I've tried to find the source of this beautiful quote but I think reading between the Google lines it is adapted from a quote by Abraham Lincoln.
Ending a speech in Chicago on July 10 1858, the 16th US President declared (and I'm hearing Daniel Day Lewis' voice here): 'I leave you, hoping that the lamp of liberty will burn in your bosoms until there shall no longer be a doubt that all men are created free and equal.'
Looking at all these names on the war memorial, you can't help but think, free and equal maybe, but with a heavy price to pay for liberty.
The artist who designed the sculpture was George Henry Paulin A.R.S.A
Happy to be corrected on the quote...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.