Relief

I tagged another day on to the bank holiday to create a little bit more of a break. Vile weather meant there was no excuse not to do some more sorting so I spent the morning sorting a bit indoors and the afternoon sorting a bit in the shed ... it all felt like moving stuff around from A to B but things are a tiny bit more organised... kind of.

Two discoveries. The first was a huge relief (extra) ... pieces of mum’s jewellery. When I was sorting the house last year my sister was keen for me to decide which pieces of mum’s jewellery l wanted. I’m not a jewellery person and I wasn’t in the mood for the small stuff when there was so much more significant stuff to sort at the time. It felt like tying your shoe laces with a tsunami looming over you. In the end I put these items aside. The chain is one that mum wore all the time and you can just about make it out on one of my old blips of her in the care home. The brooch with the figures was a piece I always loved and was fascinated by. They move back and forth and strike the anvil. I bought them back with me on one of my numerous trips to and fro and tucked them away somewhere safe. So safe I completely forgot where. When my sister intermittently mentioned them I kept wracking my brains to try to recall what on earth I’d done with them and I hadn’t come across them on any of my other perpetual sort outs. I started to have a sinking feeling that they had just got lost somewhere somehow in amongst the chaos of that period. Anyway, here they are, found in sort out number six million and one. Phew!

The second item I found was my husband’s handy little binoculars. Perfect ... my chance to check out the merganser/goosander conundrum that Beedey and I have ongoing down on our patch of the Eamont. I waited for a lull in the rain. There wasn’t one so I kitted out in all my waterproofs and headed optimistically for the river with the binoculars. Of course, the news went out on Twitter pretty pronto and the blighter that has been there every time I’ve been down recently was nowhere to be seen, doubtless sniggering somewhere upstream. Never mind, I got to check out a couple of Dippers and then took lots of shots of drippy bluebells and gathered wild garlic and jack by the hedge, to go with some of my homegrown ground elder, for some soup.

Rather spookily, I’ve just realised I did the same walk on the same day last year and the year before!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.