Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunshine and HAIL!

JR off to the gym, as usual. I had a stressful morning, though I did get the washing and ironing done (earpods are very useful for carrying in with stuff while on long phone calls).

Of late, our wifi has been sloooow, buffering, etc. Most annoying. It has an alert - ‘weak security’- which I have ignored for a week or so. But today I plunged in and rang my providers. This is always traumatic, not to mention time consuming. Today was the WORST. I was hanging on for about 40 minutes, having to listen to screechy ‘pop muzak’. It was painful. But after such a long time, the urge to just hang up was overwhelming, but good sense and blind determination made me hang on. 

Eventually a chap answered. They have the excuse of ‘COVID’ and ‘reduced staff’, but I don’t think that’s strictly true now. I think they have fewer staff and just leave the phones ringing till they can be arsed bothered to answer. 

Also, his accent (non-UK) was very hard to understand. He asked how many devices I have - four - but he said that there were about TEN devices on it!!! EEEK! But he talked me through resetting my wifi to make it more secure. I am SO glad I kept at it.

We walked down to pick up Christine to take her for a birthday lunch. Archie was in a big hurry to get there, but as he came to the door, he went all timid and subdued - yes, Quine and Ghost were behind the door, and rushed to ‘welcome’ him. He’s rather intimidated by them, though they’re no bother.

We walked round to Black Ivy. It was very cold but sunny. Christine had the sense to bring umbrellas. We had a nice lunch - inside, warm, but no alcohol - and when we left, we exited into bright sunshine, warmer, and HAIL! This weather is crazy.

Luckily Christine pointed out to us that we won’t be voting tomorrow in the school, as per usual, but we’ve found out where we go. Must just check the tactical voting advice for our ward again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.