Knowing what you do and don't want

Dan was at RNCM, today, and Hannah had a house viewing on the outskirts of Manchester, so I decided I'd ferry him down and join Hannah to see the property.

I bought my first house in 1990. For all sorts of reasons, which I don't want to rehearse here, it was the worst time to buy, but for many years the one fact that consoled me was that we'd looked at enough flats to be sure that this one was a good price (if not quite a bargain).

So I've been pleased that Hannah - along with some happy collaboration by the Minx - has been quite thoroughly researching the market. The flat we saw today was a little too far out and although the surprising large garden was initially enticing, we quickly decided it would be far too much work to look after.

Still, it wasn't a waste of time. It can be as useful to know what you don't want as what you do.

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.