DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Miracles

Today was my review appointment following the bone graft surgery 4 weeks ago.

My transport arrived really early so I was at Salford an hour before I needed to be. Since I had time to kill, I decided to push myself and walk down to orthopaedics, rather than being wheeled like I usually am. I even stopped off for a cheeky cappuccino on the way!

First up, I had to go for an X-ray. Though it’s too early to tell how things are healing from that, I think he wanted to check everything was ok (as far as he can tell with all the metalwork in the way).

While I was waiting to see the consultant, I had a once over by the frame nurses. They are delighted with how clean and healthy everything looks, I’m a ‘star patient’ apparently.

When the consultant came in, he thought I was without crutches, which he said would be a ‘miracle’. I confessed that I have been walking without them around the house and he was stunned!
This was my big question for today; am I ok to do this or do I risk damaging things if the bone ‘flexes’.

He said everything is held nicely in position by the frame so as long as there’s no pain when I walk, then he’s more than happy for me to walk unaided.
He did say maybe take at least one crutch with me if I’m out and about though, which I would (and do) do anyway.
It’s fair to say, his flabber was ghasted by my determination and mobility.
I’m seeing him again in 6 weeks time, where he will arrange a CT scan for a better view of healing.

My final stop of the day was with physio, who as always, was really happy with how well I’m getting on. He had a student with him and said I was possibly the worst example of a patient as I do everything right, so there’s not much work to do.
He’s given me a couple more exercises to do and said if I can get to grips with them, I’ll ‘hit the ground running’ when my frame comes off.

At this rate, I’m going to have to widen the doors to get my head through! :-D

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.