Stop Signs

Alexandre Desplat - The Heroic Weather Conditions of the Universe Part 7

An early morning with lots of study involved. A good Japanese lesson today although I have MUCH to improve on. Finally saw Moonrise Kingdom which I had put off several weeks seeing due to other things happening and of course Django Unchained. I really love Wes Anderson films and have been in awe since I first saw Rushmore on VCD in my cousin's room in Malaysia. It was one of those times when I just had to watch something, heard about it and have been in a romance ever since. I have all of his films on DVD and although, to be honest, the "comedy" isn't really apparent to me I simply enjoy the feelings, colours, aesthetics, etc. I feel strangely cleansed. His films are emotionally cold I think, but like Francois Truffaut, the emotion comes quite matter-of-fact and allows for many different interpretations. After the years pass by, looking back you see something different.

Another similarity to his films which he perhaps drew inspiration from is Ferris' Bueller's Day Off. I used to not be a fan of 80s films, but since many of my friends had seen it I thought it best to see what all the fuss was about. I didn't expect the film to look so beautiful, my expectations were set to the level of Porky's, Joysticks, The Revenge of the Nerds, etc. but it was gorgeous; its imagery still remaining in my head. For those who've seen both you might draw a direct moment in Moonrise Kingdom that perhaps draws from Ferris. It's just my opinion anyway, but there's no doubt that Ferris Bueller's Day Off made a big impact, along with many other John Hughes pictures.

Anyway, before I go too far off topic, which I tend to do, it was good seeing it. It was a gorgeous day sun-wise. Some things in my life need to change and the only way to do it, is from my own willpower. After a good dinner and motivating conversation with a close friend, I finished the day with a 1-hour jog throughout town and a relaxing bath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.