The dance of the bumblebee

It has been a dull, wet day. Lots of things to be getting on with inside despite the outer bleakness.

Mid evening I ventured out. Still grey, still cool, and drizzling. I looked above our front door, well they’re not active today I thought. And then a buzzing over my head as a tree bumblebee flew in, alighted and then walked the familiar route up the brickwork to the entrance to the nest. That was a surprise.

I went inside and alerted J who came out to have a look. Another one was walking up, so I reached up with my phone* to take a pic. By this time two were walking down and others were flying in. The weather certainly hasn’t stopped the bees from doing what bees do in May.

J was a bit alarmed. I have reassured her that they are entirely harmless. I think they’re fascinating and doing good work. There are two sizes of bumblebee flying in and out. I am no expert, but I presume the smaller ones are “workers” and the larger males, Somewhere up there producing the next generation is the Queen.

The image is a bit fuzzy, but it’s a record of the moment.

* the word “phone” seems inappropriate now for these little hand-held computers which do so many other things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.