Groggster

By Groggster

Squad Rotation

Today's image is again not the one I set out to originally take. I took a small car journey out to Peter's Village - it's not actually a village but a new housing development between two local villages (Eccles and Wouldham).
It's a fairly spectacular setting in a valley at the bottom of the North Downs and on the bend of a river which for some strange reason it has decided to almost completely ignore! It is just an anonymous and soulless housing estate which appears to be devoid of any character - such a missed opportunity. It does have an esplanade right on the river but even this just has five or six trees, some benches and nothing else. 
I wanted to take an image to show how bleak it feels - even the weather co-operated in this respect as it was dull, cold and very windy - but I was so bored I just decided to get in the car and go back home!
On the way I stopped off at The Friars (our local Carmelite priory) for a short walk in much more pleasant surroundings and managed to capture this image. It's taken looking across the duck pond (although it's actually frequented by very few ducks!) with this Canada goose looking to the horizon whilst some of his brethren take a dip.
I have titled this image "Squad Rotation" as for some reason it reminds me of a substitute in a game of football waiting for his turn to get on to the pitch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.