Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

My mum

I am a day late with this, but seeing several blippers blip their mums for Mothering Sunday, and having re-discovered some family photos whilst hanging up picture frames on Friday evening, I thought I'd blip my mum! I've also been home all day as the garage didn't call to tell me to fetch my car!

This is one of my favourite pictures, taken in July 1993 in what turned out to be my mum's last summer. G (Jellyfox) was visiting and we had just been treated to a Mongolian BBQ by the friends who gave us their home last summer! Can't believe it was 20 years ago! Wish I was still as thin as that!! ;)

As you can see, my mum is in a wheelchair. She lost her right leg in an accident aged 18; before she got married and had children! Quite unique in the early 60s in a place like Pakistan. Most men would not dream of committing to someone who was cripple but my Dad was a bit different! A really tough cookie, her biggest battles were against debilitating rheumatoid arthritis and later diabetes all compounded by lack of movement. Anyway, I was glad I had her for 26 years of my life. She taught me A LOT. I loved her fight and spirit.

Oh, and she almost always wore a long blue dress! She had a wardrobe full of them! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.