Ricardo

A flurry of emotions and busyness this morning as we got the kids ready for school and said heartfelt goodbyes to Ed. I walked to school and Danny took Ed back to prison. Such a horrible thing to have to do, but hopefully he'll not be there much longer. 
Danny and I briefly reconvened afterwards and both agreed we felt zonked.
I had 1 or 2 errands in town so did those and then bumped into this lovely character, Ricardo. He managed to get off the big H last year and has maintained it! Utterly amazing! We talked for a long long time today, I think I learnt more about him than I have in the past 7 years put together. After we parted ways he text me to say God had 'given' him a miracle and his social worker had agreed to pay for him to live in a hostel or room from today!!! He was so so delighted! Another step in helping him maintain these healthier life habits. 
Late morning I went along to be part of my friend's language lesson. She's Colombian and has just started teaching English, but today she wanted her student to practise talking with a native speaker. Lovely to meet her student and natter (slowly).
Danny was in the prison this afternoon/evening (not seeing Ed though as he's in solitary for the next days as a quarantine time). The kids and I entertained ourselves playing hide and seek and charades - a lot of hysterical laughter as we tried to guess what animal the others were acting out - Nate; "are you a sick frog?? Are you a tired lion? Are you a seahorse who can't swim?" Ha! Unfortunately he fell asleep this afternoon so he's not yet fallen asleep tonight. 
A Zoom tonight with Brian and Tracy in the UK and the rest of the Ibiza team.
Looking forward to Netflix and an early night.

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Big hugs with Ed - I'll be able to do another couple of glass visits, but I'll not see him free again before he leaves Spain.
2) Ricardo's openness about his upbringing and life.
3) Sole sending me a lovely cross she'd made out of ring pulls and embroidered together. So special!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.