Working from home

Friday at last. Not a very inspired contribution to BCRecreate but I couldn’t resist when I saw Gregor wandering across my desk as I was working today. I felt a lot of sympathy. Over a year mainly working from home I frequently feel like a ‘monstrous insect’ with pathetic legs compared to the rest of my bulk wondering what has has happened to me.

I went for a short cycle this evening and saw a live chaffinch with a dead chaffinch in the road (extra). It didn’t look as though the other one had been dead long. I spent a while watching the live one as it hopped around the other, occasionally very lightly pecking at it and then hopping up and flying into the air and back down again as if to encourage it back to life, or showing it what to do. It wasn’t a passing moment, it continued for some time and it was still doing it as I cycled off. Maybe I’m being overly anthropomorphic but I wandered if it was grieving, or trying to work out what was wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.