ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Haringvliet

Beautiful sunny day! All my classes went like clockwork, I had no headache despite the unplanned late night, and, very important, no snow! Decided to detour through the A29 this afternoon. I just KNEW I was going to stop on this bridge to take this shot. 'Haringvliet' translates literally into "Herring Fleet", one of the major rivers that swelled up hundreds of years ago after the Elisabeth Floods in the 15th century. One of these days, weather permitting, I might take a shot where you can see where the river joins the land. 50% of The Neth is UNDER sea level and it's the dikes and dams that police the waters and make them stay where they are, but a spell of rain and storm and the waters rise again and easily inundate low-lying areas.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.