The A16 At Dusk

We climbed to the top of the viewing tower to take sunset shots, but I was not happy with the results -- no sas, no drama, although the red was quite impressive.  There's an extra.

Good progress with research today, and I took time out a number of times to simply sit at the waterfront with AW (as well as without) and bask in the sun.  It has been quite a while since we've done that.

The shot shows a very quiet Sunday version of the A16, the way most people would like it.  Before COVID, there were more people on the road, but I suppose many are now so used to staying at home.  Habits can be broken, in fact more easily than many think.

While I was up in the tower, I looked at the view all around me.  There was absolutely no fear in the air, no dread, no anxiety of any kind.  Really, the only troubled place is in people's heads, and the wars and other acts of aggression are proof of that.

Ferryoons' comment yesterday deserves a good response -- Fate, whatever that is, is in our heads, too.  From Day 1, I've sort of decided things myself.  No one wanted the baby?  Well, guess what, the baby came and refused to die and is still very much alive and kicking.  How we interpret fate is entirely up to us.  In this sense, perhaps, everything is a Plan A.  We attach these labels to distinguish points in time, but Plans B, C, etc. can be / could be / often are just as good, depending on how much effort we put into them.  We can't 'confuse the Fates' but, often, we allow 'them' to confuse us.  But, okay, this is just my take on it, based on how I've resolved my own issues.  Everything is a risk, always has been... but how one moves forward despite that is entirely up to oneself.  There's a good online course on the FutureLearn MOOC platform, which I'm sure I've mentioned before -- 'The Mind Is Flat'.  It deals with questions like this.  We do 'make it up as we go along', but we do decide exactly how to make it up, even if not everything is clear at the moment the decision is (being) made.

Thanks, Ferryoons!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.