Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A is for . . .

I spotted this chap at the entrance to Rochester High Street on my way home.
“Are they swarming?” I asked
“A small swarm, yes”

I could see the bees buzzing about in a smallish tree close to the al-fresco dining area of a recently re-opened Italian restaurant and could easily understand why the proprietors might want them removed urgently on a balmy evening.

My first shot was hasty and then the apiarist went back to his van, so I waited for him to return in order to get a better shot and perhaps ask him a little more.

While he was gone I took other pictures of the swarm-box and the swarm in the tree and while I was doing that a 1980s throwback came off his skateboard behind the tree.

“Did you get that?” he asked, having picked up his errant board.
“No mate, I was photographing the bees, but if you'd smacked into them I'd have got that for sure”.

And then the professional returned so I got my shot and everybody was happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.