BRIANW

By BRIANW

If My Brother Was In A Band, Aylesford

Watched a great documentary on The Band called Once We Were Brothers that was on BBC4 last night. As well as the wonderful music and the engrossing story of the group I also loved the photographs that were used throughout the programme so I decided to honour that by doing a portrait of my brother that reflected those images. Unfortunately, me and my brother are not musical in any way (although he does love embedding an "earworm" into my brain that I cannot then get rid of!) and could never be in a band. It's why I so admire musicians, being able to make gorgeous music like The Band did and that still sounds so brilliant now just blows my mind and lifts my spirits. Ultimately, their story is sad and, in some cases, tragic but they left behind something that will stay alive for ever and surely that can't be a better epitaph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.