Moseley Old Hall

Moseley Old Hall is a National Trust property, or as described by the guide, "a little old house at the back of Wolverhampton." Its main claim to fame was that it was here that the future King Charles II (at the time King Charles of Scotland) was hidden after the disastrous battle of Worcester in 1651.

The photo is of the Knot Garden (which I was disappointed to learn was not an original feature of the house - just that the National Trust had decided that it was a good place to have one)

View of Moseley Old Hall
As you can see, I'm playing with the wide angle on the Lumix :-). Although this brick construction appears Victorian, it is actually a timber, Tudor building. The Victorians did infill with brick and that has been significant in preserving the house.

It was freezing cold, and even colder inside the house. Our guide was very thorough - and even the jokes and lively stories couldn't battle too well with the icy fingers and feet.

But I was in an excellent mood. I had been to see my wonderful surgeon for the annual check up and he was pleased. My replacement hip has done well and there doesn't appear to be much further deterioration in my dodgy other one :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.