For Neil

This is a shot of the audible book I am listening to, Traveling Music, written by Neil Peart, the late drummer of the band Rush. It is easily the best, most interesting memoir I have ever read/listened to. I was never a huge Rush fan, but after Peart died of brain cancer in January of 2020, I read up on his life. What an interesting, well-lived life. He was born about six months before I was, so many of his reference points in his boyhood I can really relate to. It’s funny, almost eerie, how similar our younger days were. He grew up in eastern Canada, and I grew up in southern Oregon, but in so many ways we lived parallel lives. Some of the book is hilariously funny, some very sad, and some cringe-worthy. He tells the story of a junior high science teacher who asked him if he was “retarded” because he constantly drummed on his books and desk in class. He talks about all of his musical influences, from Frank Sinatra and Duke Ellington, to The Who and Jimi Hendrix.

I won’t bore you with the myriad other details about the book, but it is a fascinating read/listen. What an amazing man: one of the world’s greatest drummers; a gifted writer; an expert on cars and motorcycles; and an extensive world traveler. What a shame that he died so young, but I am grateful to discover his works and words now.

From the song “In The End”:

“Oh, you can take me for a little while.
You can take me, make me smile in the end.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.