Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Easedale Reflections

The start of a river that connects Grasmere, Rydal Water and Windermere.  A later start (6 am) for a pre breakfast walk.  I headed up the Easedale Road, reaching as far as the waterfall below the tarn of the same name.  No sunshine at all, but still when you're in this landscape there were still scenes to explore and record.

I had to smile, I always keep my eye out for wildlife, but I was in full landscape mode, camera on tripod, slow exposures set, two filters on the lens, reducing shutter speeds yet further.  So when a red squirrel appeared just a few yards in front of me, I was on a hiding to nothing.  The first shot was a total waste; all of the time the squirrel was tracking across me, heading further away.  In the end I had to remove the filters, change my mode setting and remove the camera from the tripod by which time the squirrel was a good 20 metres away.  At least it had the kindness to sit up for me to take one image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.