Brancaster

M&R left to go on their holiday late morning so I’m home alone now. It feels a bit odd not having a load of sorting and various jobs to do down here after all these years. M&R very kindly gave up a bit of their garage space for my little bike that I’ve had down here for centuries. I remember getting it when I was quite young, but can’t quite remember how old, from the strange roadside place that sold reconditioned bikes there for years and years on the Creake to Fakenham road. My mum dropped me off and I cycled it back to Burnham Market. I remember cycling it all the way to my sister’s once when the bus services were cut and when she was living the other side of Norwich, near Loddon. It was a bit epic; I thought I was going to die!

So, after pumping up the tyres and a dose of oil, I set off for Brancaster beach. I had a nice chat to the woman at the beach kiosk where I parked my bike - she was saying how hectic it has been already. I headed out for a swim and a wander along for a bit of seal watching in the creek before returning for ice cream and the cycle back.

Then it turned into a birdy evening. I watered the garden, watched a red kite overhead, rescued a wren (extra) and went out onto the marsh to see the sunset where I was treated to a hunting barn owl sweeping and quartering across the fields.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.