Windmill Nr. 4, Tweemanspolder, Zevenhuizen

'Twee' = 'TWAY' = 'two'.
There are four windmills on the 'Tweemanspolder' and this is the fourth.
Of course I saw the other three.
Far away to the south, I also saw the fifth windmill in this area, but it is not part of this set of four, and it was that one that I wanted to visit, but missed the turn and ended up here, which was not a bad thing at all.
Again, each one will get their turn, so I will definitely come back a handful more times.

The extra will show you how narrow the dike is.  It's more of a bicycle path than a road, which is a single carriageway with absolutely no room to maneouvre unless you reverse using somebody's driveway.  I left the car closer to the main road leading back to the village, and hiked to this spot.  I couldn't get any further than the little pier I had to stand on to get this shot.

The river is the Rotte, which ends up in Rotterdam, and which gave Rotterdam its name (just as Amsterdam was named after the Amstel).

A hot and humid day, but neither of us minded.  After the 6-month-long winter, this is just fine.  Due to only four hours of sleep last night, though, I conked out fairly early, but not before finishing week 2 of the MOOC and starting a bit of week 3.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.