But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

We Have a Man Looking into It.

If you see a hole in the road, or even the pavement, there is sure to be someone with the deep psychological need to look into it; of course some people do this for a profession. This particular gentleman probably calls himself an engineer.

I used to be an engineer; many years ago, one of my colleagues opened his front door to be confronted by a man who had come to fix the central heating and who introduced himself as "the central heating engineer." The colleague retorted, "No, you are the repair man, I am an engineer!" History does not report on the quality of the work carried out.

I know this fellow is wearing a Hi-Viz jacket but I feel that he is living rather dangerously. This is in the middle of a busy thoroughfare. There are lots of old ladies (and gentlemen), seriously deficient in the visual acuity department, who go zooming up and down this pavement with gay abandon on their electric buggies. I know one of them rather well; fortunately for this chap, she is no longer allowed out unsupervised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.