My and my shadow

Difficult to choose a shot today, as I really like both of them.

The main one of the male Scarce Blue Tailed Damselfly (ischnura pumilio) is really about the simplicity of the photograph and the dominant and almost abstract feel of the insect's shadow on the old growth iris leaf, in the garden pond. The insect, little more than an inch long, is red-listed as nationally threatened, and is likely to have emerged from the margins where the koi can't reach.

The extra is also lovely, and has as chaotically colourful a backdrop as the former was simple. Over lunch we watched this (I think) Dunnock capture what looks like a damselfly (too early for crane flies) in the flower bed. In the mix of flowers and grasses he is almost unnoticed until he moves, which h did as the stem bent under him.

You choose, I give up. We're off again tomorrow, so expect back blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.