Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Bee One

Hard pressed to choose a blip from among the many taken at Kew today. Was it going to be the forbiddingly spiky aiphanes eggesrsti? Or an aerial view of the great palm house from the high walkway? In the end, this one pleased me most - my first bee of the year- or B1, as the Prof christened it. Check out the laden pollen baskets it carries.

This has already become a very special holiday- the Prof is of course the most wonderful travelling companion. Add to that the fine spring weather, the feeling of being at home in our quiet Bloomsbury neighbourhood and the wonders of Kew. We had breakfast en famille at the long tables in the great hall of the college and tonight we are going to attend a lecture on the effects on the UK of Scottish independence (funny, I never thought of it that way round until now). The Prof has made me promise I won't heckle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.